Skincare

SKINCARE: My Current Winter Skincare Routine

Hello everyone!

In my previous post, I talked about the importance of finding out your skin type in order to assemble a lineup of skincare products that is catered to your skin needs and concerns. So as a disclaimer, the following is my skincare routine, personalized for my own winter skin needs and overall concerns so do be careful when testing products on your own skin. ANYWAYS, I’m so psyched to finally share my skincare routine with you all! After all, I’m an unnie (older sister) that’s obsessed with skincare products that make my epidermis (and dermis) look and feel more healthy and bright and youthful because who doesn’t want good skin? 😉

Step 1: Cleansing
As a girl, it comes as no surprise that I wear makeup. All makeup looks best with smooth skin. Since I have sensitive combination skin, I use a cleansing oil to remove all the makeup on the surface and follow up with a daily-wash gentle foaming cleanser to deep-clean the actual pores of my skin. At night, I add the step of exfoliation using a enzyme powder combined with water, creating a lather that gently exfoliates the dead skin off my face. Each product requires a 1-min massage in circular motions to effectively allow the removal of dirt and gunk before rinsing with warm/lukewarm water.

Makeup Remover: Shu Uemura Anti-ox Cleansing Oil
Cleansers: Kate Somerville ExfoliKate Cleanser Daily Foaming Wash (morning)
Blanc & Eclare Serein Silk Cleansing Foam (night)
Exfoliator: Amore Pacific Treatment Enzyme Peel

Step 2: Toner Prep
There’s a reason why we need a toner: to prep the skin to absorb the nutritive products after the skin is clean. While some toners act as a clarifying step, winter weather requires me to opt for more hydrating options. I go in with a cotton pad soaked with the toning water and wipe from the center of my face and down my jaw and neck to remove any traces of cleanser and smooth everything out for the next step.

Toner: Belif Bergamot Herbal Extract Toner

Step 3: Essence  (Serum #1)
When I say “essence”, I mean a light serum of a watery texture that can moisten your skin first to enhance the absorption power of whatever more-potent serum you will layer on afterwards. It can be labeled as an essence or serum or concentrate, but the texture should always determine the order of what products you layer on, from the lightest to the heaviest. If the description tells you to use it first, it’s also a sign that it is meant to be used as the “serum #1” in your routine after cleansing and toning. This essence layer will go down furthest in your epidermis down to the dermis layer, meaning it will sink in best. I apply my essence with my fingertips in circular motions, from my cheeks and forehead outward and down my neck and wait a minute before the next step.

Essence: Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate (testing out the mini version before investing in the full-size – so far, it’s very good!)

Step 4: Power Serum (Serum #2)
Compared to the first layer, this second layer is the distinguishing power player in your routine. All the main nutrients you want to get are in this layer and should be applied right after the skin is good and moist. Since your skin is like a sponge, applying products in thin layers is key to getting the most potency out of your serums. The consistency of your serums vary, depending on what they are meant for: deep hydration, anti-wrinkle, anti-redness, discolouration, hyper-pigmentation, dullness, etc. but generally, the consistency is less runny than that of the first serum and can be more gel-like. As a result, my application is also in circular motions but ends in a patting motion to push the product into my pores and lightly stimulate my facial circulation. This time, I wait for about 5 minutes to let it all absorb more since it is more viscous than the essence.

Serum: UGB Hydrating Serum

Step 5: Moisturizer (Cream)
For my third layer, I apply a cream to seal in whatever I’ve applied in the previous 2 steps. Whether it be a gel or cream formula, I refer to this step as my “seal” step, especially in the mornings when I just apply SPF and makeup on top. The purpose is to create a thick layer to prevent the serum goodness from leaving my skin and to maintain a moisturizing barrier from the harsh elements of winter/early-spring winds. I currently use a gel-cream so I also apply using circular motions, but for creams and balms, I prefer patting it on to prevent greasiness. In the mornings, I wait 3-5 minutes before applying other products, but at night, I wait 2 minutes and apply my finishing step.

Cream: UGB Aqua Cream

Step 6: Facial Oil
Whenever I need extra hydration, which is usually necessary in this transition between winter and spring here in Canada, I layer on a facial oil. I only recently got into using oils, but I have never looked back! They are a godsend to combat dryness, both in my face and the rest of my body! Best of all, facial oils now come in the form of dry oils which are not sticky or greasy at all. If you have dry skin,  oils are a must-have staple in your skincare routine. For a combination-type girl like me, I stick to having them in my night routine only. A few drops on my cheeks and forehead and chin are enough to spread a moisturized layer on my face and neck. And don’t worry, everything is perfectly absorbed and supple when I wake up in the morning 🙂

Facial Oil: W.Lab Natural 100% Pure Face Oil

That’s all for my winter skincare routine! I have yet to go into sheet masks and sleeping masks but I’ll save those for another post. It’s only just started getting warmer in Toronto so I’ll likely finish this routine by the end of the month. Hope everyone made it through the long post and have a good Easter weekend! I’ve been so busy with family and church this Good Friday which is why this promised post is so late.

See you next week!

❤️ XoXo

Sunnie Obsessions ☀️

Leave a Reply

